As mentioned in my previous post, I’ve spent the past week in Cambodia with Jen and Beth, and it was incredible!  Rather than write a novel about my experiences (and believe me, I could), I thought I’d give you some highlights in two parts: Phnom Penh & Siem Reap.  You can see all of the Siem Reap and Angkor Wat pictures here, and in the meantime, enjoy a handful of stories:

1. Running the Angkor Wat International 10K. I wasn’t quite sure I would be able to finish this race after my two-week battle with the Singaporean flu, but low and behold I ran the whole way and crossed the finish line at 1:11:00.  Nothing to write home about, but the actual race itself was incredible!  We were up early enough to see the legendary sunrise over Angkor Wat.  The course took us through the beautiful temple grounds, and all of the race proceeds went to benefit landmine victims.  You can read about the race in this nytimes article.

2.  Hiking a mountain to see The River of a Thousand Penises. Because really, how could that NOT be a highlight?  Ok so actually it is called the river of a thousand lingas, which is the male phallic symbol.   After running our race in the morning, Beth, Jen and I trekked up the jungle mountain in the afternoon to see the ancient Hindu carvings.   Don’t even bother – we’ve already made all possible jokes related to this adventure.

3.  Climbing the temples to see the sunset. And in the evening, we put our quads to the test and climbed up Preh Rup to see the sunset.  See pictures below:

4.  Market Massage. After a grueling day, we went into town for some dinner and a little shopping at the night market, where Jen convinced us all to have our feet massaged for $3.  Heaven!  Nobody was enticed, however, by the “fish pedicure” tank, where not-so-tiny fish bite the dead skin off your feet.  I’m skeptical.

5.  More Temples. We spent our last day “temple hopping” Tomb-Raider-Style and soaking up bas-reliefs, incredible architecture, and breathtaking scenery.  I feel like we only skimmed the surface of this amazing place, and I would go back in a heart beat!

