The gateway to virtually any trek in the Annapurna region is Pokhara.  A smaller, quainter version of Kathmandu’s Thamel district, Pokhara is a lovely lakeside town that caters to tourists – evident in the sheer number of North Face trekking gear stores, German bakeries and pashmina hawkers that line the dusty streets.

I spent an entire day here post-trek doing nothing more than buying a few postcards and prayer flags, sipping tea in a garden next to the lake and reading Into Thin Air amongst the pink hibiscus flowers on the veranda of my hotel.  It was a welcome day of respite and relaxation for my limbs and lower back!

As usual Tim snapped some amazing pictures with his trained eye and Nikon SLR, and he’s been gracious enough to let me post them on my blog.  Thanks, Tim!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

