Leave it to me to lose my passport the day I’m supposed to travel abroad. I had plans to go to Penang for the weekend so you can imagine my panic when I discovered my passport wasn’t in its normal spot in my desk drawer. After several hours spent turning my room inside-out and scrambling through my office desk, I had to surrender to the fact that I wouldn’t be going anywhere this weekend. A call to the embassy was fruitless – they were closed for the holiday weekend.

So what do you do when you’ve lost your passport, your embassy is closed, and you’ve booked non-refundable plane tickets to a foreign country where you’ve made non-refundable hotel reservations? Well, the answer is nothing. There’s nothing you can do – trust me, I looked into it! Be zen or accept fate or something deep like that.

On the upside I was able to reschedule my flight for June, and my room has never looked so clean! I was also able to spend some time with friends this weekend at a Sentosa beach party and knock-out a 7 mi. run in preparation for the Sundown Half Marathon at the end of this month. (Plus purchase one lovely linen boyfriend jacket…adorable!) Additionally, the officer who helped me file a police report was very good-looking!

The trip may have been a wash, but I tried to make the most of it! Fingers crossed that I’ll be able to get a replacement or temporary passport in time to go see CoCo in Thailand. (Or perhaps I’ll cross my fingers that Uncle Sam doesn’t break the bank…)

