I made my first attempt at baking Challah in my Singaporean apartment last night!  It took a bit longer than usual because I am pretty unfamiliar with my kitchen (Ash had to show me how to turn on the oven…) and I have no measuring utensils.  But apart from some minor issues with the dry yeast, everything went pretty smoothly.

You’re supposed to let the yeast foam in warm water for about 10 minutes before you add it to the mixture, but it took me three attempts to finally get it to foam.  I’m not sure if the water temp was killing the yeast or if the crazy humidity last night was a problem.  Maybe the yeast you buy at the Chinese grocery store is different from the stuff I use in the States?  Who knows.

Anyways, the recipe needs a little tweaking – it’s a bit bland – but other than that, not a bad start.  Will definitely make a good french toast!

Shabbat Shalom!

