There are so many really fantastic food options in town, and I always hesitate to use the word “favorite”.  That’s why I’m putting this place down in my top 5 restaurants in Singapore.  Blue Ginger serves Peranakan food, which is essentially the marriage of Chinese and Malaysian cuisine.

The dish below is called Ayam Buah Keluak, or braised chicken flavored with turmeric, galangal and lemongrass cooked with Indonesian black nuts.  The sauce is quite nice, and the galangal, or blue ginger, does not actually taste like ginger (at least to me).  The real stars of the dish, however are the Buah Keluak nuts, which are soaked for two days, cracked, ground into a paste, and stuffed back into the shell.  It’s kind of an acquired taste – a little bitter, hints of chocolate or coffee, sour, and like mud.  Sorry, I think you’ll just have to taste it to figure it out for yourself.

And bonus: it’s close to work and highly affordable!

