I’ve been working from NC these past couple of weeks and spending some long-overdue time with family and friends.  Being back in the states has made me realize that there are are few things that I really miss about living in the South (American south):

1. Really, really, really friendly people. Seriously, I forgot how good it feels when strangers smile at you on the street and ask you about your day, or when people strike up random conversations with you in line at the DMV (by the way – waiting in line at the DMV is NOT something I miss about America).  And I’m not gonna lie – I appreciate a cat-call every now and then.

2. The music scene.  Specifically hip-hop. Every once and a while Singapore will deliver, but honestly, one can only listen to so much pop/house/dance/techno before one goes insane.  I love my Singaporean and European ex-pat friends, but really guys – let’s get it together on the music front.  Check out this great band below, Eyes of the Elders, playing at The Black Flower in Raleigh this week (sorry for the video/sound quality…it was loud in there):

3. Driving.  You mean I don’t have to walk in the blistering sun to the MRT (subway)?  I don’t have to stand on a packed bus for 45 minutes?  It’s 2:00am and I don’t have to pay for a taxi home?  You mean, I can just get in the car and go wherever I want?  For free? No ERP? Awesome.

4. Shopping.  I’m no longer taller, wider, or curvier than the general female population, so everything fits: shoes, pants, bras, bathing suits, you name it.  And no one is trying to sell me products to make my skin whiter.

5. Breaking the rules.  It’s healthy to be a little rebellious once in a while.  And it feels good to spit gum on the street, jaywalk, smoke a cigarette in public, and run a red light when no one is looking (just because you can!).

This trip home has been a good battery-recharger.  And now I’m ready to take on Singapore again – all shiny and happy!  See you next week, y’all…

