Between writing a million manuscripts and abstracts and preparing presentations and studying for the GREs and packing for the move and generally running around like a chicken with my head cut off (whew) – life has been a little busy lately.  I gave up maintaining any semblance (GRE word) of a social life weeks ago…

So late last night, after my brain decided it was replete (GRE word) with knowledge for the day, A and I decided to relax a little bit and savor the view from the top of our humble abode.

We may or may not have been allowed up there.  It’s still unclear to me.

Anyways, the evening went something like this:

K: Hey A, do you wanna go up to the top floor with me and see if we can see downtown?

A: Yeah definitely, let me put on my black socks and sandals and look as Scandinavian as possible. [ok, he didn’t say that last part]

K: [arriving at the top floor].  Hmm, looks like the door won’t open.

A: [already scaling the door].

K: What are you doing??!!??

A: Come on!  I didn’t come all the way up here to peek through the bars.

K: Shit, are you really going to make me do this? I’m a rule-follower, A!  I live inside the box! [drawing a square with my fingers] See this?  I’m in the middle!

A: Just throw your foot over please.

K: [precariously landing on the other side]

A: You see? You did it.  What are they going to do? Kick us out of the building?

K: [sirens sounding in the distance] Oh no!  They’re coming for us!!  We’ve still got 2 days left on the lease!

A: [just shakes head] Americans…

So in the end I was coaxed (GRE word) onto the rooftop by my intrepid (GRE word) Swedish flatmate, and yes, it was worth it.  Take THAT, Sail building! I think I’m going to miss this apartment. And my super adventurous flatmates, of course.

