Kiersten. “Key-er-sten.”

People mispronounce my name all the time (thanks, Mom and Dad).  Whatever, I’m used to it.   I’ve answered to Kristin, Kristine, Kristina, Kirsten, Kirstie, etc. ever since I can remember.  When I lived in Argentina, people called me Kris (“kriiiiiis”).  Here in Singapore people just call me K (“kay”).  Most of the time it’s not worth the effort to make corrections.

But I think someone has reached an all-time low on the mispronunciation scale.

I made dinner reservations at Rakuichi last night under my name, but when we showed up, there was no record of my call. “What happened?” I asked.  “I just made reservations for 5 people at 8:30!”

The defensive hostess showed me the reservation list:

Chris Tan. 5 people. 8:30.

Obviously I died laughing (so did the hostess, by the way).

And then I spent the rest of the evening laughing.  And a good part of today laughing.  I’ll probably laugh tomorrow too.

From now on I’m only making reservations under my new alias: Chris Tan.

