I’m gonna throw it out there: Tamil sounds like gurgling.

Underwater gurgling. Try it – next time you’re in a pool, try to speak underwater as fast as you can and you’ll sound like the lady on the MRT: “bungali bungali bungali gobanachi pulangji.”

In fact, any language you don’t understand has a stereotypical sound. You know what I’m talking about, right? Like the way you would speak a language if you had the intelligence of a 7-year old (read: me). Example:

French: “blah blu ble blah oui oui oo la la”

Italian: “amore mio pasta pasta mamma mia”

Chinese: “ching chong chong chang chong”

Swedish: “yahhhh tak tak fluugety fluugety”

I asked Chloe once how non-native speakers imitate English, and she told me: “If you’re British, you sound like you’re talking with hot soup in your mouth. If you’re American, it sounds like you’re talking with hot rocks in your mouth.” (I see you there, reading this blog post, trying to talk like you have hot rocks in your mouth!”)

But I digress. Back to the gurgling. Tamil may sound a little silly to me, but I’m love this new song. In fact, it took an incredible amount of self-control to refrain from gyrating like a crazy woman on my morning commute.

I dare you to listen to this without bouncing your shoulders. Check it:

